Golden Glen Creamery – dairy goodness

11 09 2007

I’ve been wanting to post about my favorite dairy, Golden Glen Creamery, in the county for a while, but I wanted to have a full complement of their products. I’m not sure why except that it was a good excuse to buy them all at once maybe. 🙂

Golden Glen Creamery products

Here we have (L-R) whole milk (normally red cap), 2% milk, whipping cream, cheese curds, butter and, in this case, garlic and onion cheddar. They also have skim milk, chocolate milk, half and half, plain cheddar, gouda, mozzarella and feta. Golden Glen is not organic, but the cows are pastured and treated quite well. Considering what is going on with Aurora and Horizon, organic certification is not always what it is cracked up to be. I can see the dairy and their practices every time I refill my milk bottles and this kind of transparency is much more important than a certification hurdle.

Visit Golden Glen during the Festival of Family Farms during the weekend of October 6th & 7th and meet the Jensen’s, pet the cows, have a look at the feed and talk to its producer, ask questions and take some home to taste. You will be converted! Later you can exchange your empty glass milk bottles for full ones at either the dairy or various locations around the state.

As anyone who knows me can attest, I don’t drink milk. I did taste this milk just straight out of a glass when we first started buying it. I didn’t really look forward to it since I find milk kind of icky, but I thought it was important. Well, this milk wasn’t icky and, in fact, was quite good. Just like that, milk in a glass! Who’d have thunk it. I still don’t drink milk straight, but I love using this in all the things that I normally use milk for and the whole milk makes excellent homemade ice cream. Since I used to use half and half for ice cream, it’s cut the fat content of our ice cream and improved the flavor.

One item that required no conversion from me was cheese curds aka squeaky cheese. They make a wonderful snack. We have to make a great effort to not eat the whole thing as we drive away from our bi-weekly milk pickup.

Golden Glen squeaky cheese

By the way, Golden Glen’s milk is pasteurized but not homogenized so shake well and don’t be surprised if your family fights over that first glass of dairy goodness!

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 09 2007
Fosco

I’ve recently been eating their butter and some of their cheeses, Saara. Nice stuff.

9 04 2009
Deborah Crosetto

What stores in Pierce County sell Golden Glen Creamery dairy products?

10 04 2009
Saara

Hi Deborah! They have a store list on their website http://www.goldenglencreamery.com/index_files/Page369.htm You may also have some luck finding a local dairy that distributes in glass bottles to your area. Perhaps a look at the Tacoma food co-op or in a Top Foods store? Good luck!

3 06 2012
Emma

Your posts make me want to move to your local area! What good wholesome foods you have compared to the CAFO products most of us eat.

Leave a Reply

