DDELC

2 11 2007

For everyone’s convenience I’ll be putting all my DDELC successes into one post. Probably just in time to slip under the wire of Kim’s or Laura’s roundup for the week. 🙂

So let’s do lunch!

DDELC lunch

First we have a chanterelle chowder that I made with my own Ozette spuds, chanterelles from BC (could have been wild-harvested locally, but these were fresh in the fridge, the others are dried in the cupboard), and whole milk from Golden Glen Creamery. There is some ham of dubious parentage in there, but we’ll just overlook that minor detail. 😉 On the plate there are a pluot from “Western Washington” according to the co-op label, a carrot from our last CSA basket, pickles made from either my own or CSA cucumbers, and a piece of pumpernickel from Germany slathered with Straus Family Creamery cultured butter from California. Yeah, well. Anyway, Kettle Salt & Pepper chips (Eugene, Oregon but still in the Salmon Nation) and our homebrew ginger ale made of well water, sugar, and lemons, raisins and ginger from California. (Recipe to be posted once it’s refined.)

Since lunch was so large, we had a small dinner.

Spot prawns

I picked up some frozen spot prawns at Skagit’s Own Fish Market (on SR 20 near Burlington, prawns caught by a fisher from Anacortes) and sauteed them in garlic and Chateau Ste. Michelle Gewürztraminer. The greens are the last of my chard and miscellaneous greens from my garden. The lime garnish is from California.

We went to a little shindig so I brought some blueberry pie.

Blueberry pie

I know well enough to not try a new recipe before serving it to other people, but I did it anyway. 🙂 Luckily, it turned out great! I used Dorie Greenspan’s pie crust recipe with Washington-grown whole wheat pastry flour and the fresh filling recipe from Sustainable Table’s Solstice Blueberry pie recipe. I can report that it works quite well with frozen organic blueberries that we picked a few months ago just up in Rockport. The lime zest is, again, from California.

I’ve been on a soup/stew kick lately and I tried something completely different.

Saxe-Coburg Soup

The only Brussel’s sprouts that I’ve seen this year were all the way from Oregon, but we had to have them at least once. At least Oregon is in the Salmon Nation! I made Saxe-Coburg Soup which was quite delicious. The bread was a barley sesame bread that I baked of ingredients from afar for the most part.

Finally, the meal where I had my greatest success. It was actually my first meal of the week, but I haven’t posted these in any order so I’ll feature it lastly here. Theme ingredient: Pear!

Pork & Potatoes

Quite accidentally, since I don’t usually give myself Iron Chef -type challenges, I ended up with a pear theme for this meal. I had a lovely Orcas pear from Jones Creek Farm and some pear vinegar from Sokol Blosser winery in Dundee, Oregon. What the heck! Shook potatoes (Ozettes from the garden), pork steak from Tenneson Family Farm, chanterelles (BC) and cipollino onions (Hedlin Family Farm, LaConner) carmelized with a bit of pear vinegar, home-pickled beets (CSA – the last – eek!) and pickles (homemade). The salad was the last of some CSA lettuce and carrots I found in the back of the crisper with a few slices of pear and vinaigrette made of pear vinegar and California walnut oil (repackaged under Trader Joe’s label). The Washington Gewürztraminer was a good choice as it even had hints of pear in its flavor.

Almost forgot dessert!

Baked Pear with Brown Sugar Vanilla ice cream

I halved a pear, drizzled it with a bit of melted butter, wine and brown sugar which I spiked with vanilla. Roasted at 400F until finished. Served with homemade brown sugar vanilla ice cream made from Golden Glen whole milk. This one I could have improved by using local honey instead of brown sugar, but I realized that just a moment after I had already dumped it on. Also I used Kirkland’s Madagascar vanilla when I could have used Tahitian vanilla made by Vanilla King in Richland. Tahiti is slightly closer than Madagascar and it would have been made by a small Washington state producer. Naturally I didn’t want to open a new bottle when another was already open. 🙂

All in all, not too bad, although I wish I’d had less work and more time to note what I actually did besides relying on memory.

What I could have done better:

I’m using up some Aurora Dairy butter that I have in my freezer so that is not local (or even ethically palatable). I should have used Golden Glen Creamery or Wilcox butter to be local.

I confess that I succumbed to buying a Kirkland spiral ham at Costco (the dubious parentage ham mentioned above). Ideally, I should have bought a ham roast from Tenneson and brined and smoked it myself. This is not beyond my normal operating parameters, but it would have meant ham next week instead of this week. In my defense (?), I didn’t buy it because I was lazy, I bought it because the stuff is delicious. We ate the ham itself in various ways and I tossed the bone into the crockpot and came up with 3 quarts of hearty gelatinous stock that I’ve been using on my soup/stew kick. I promise that I cringe a little each time I see it because I can’t get the visions of factory-farmed pigs out of my head. It’s one of my last failings. Is there a Porker’s Anonymous?

The chanterelles from BC should have been locally harvested, but I fail to walk past the cheap chanterelles at Costco if they have them despite the fact that they’re in the freaking cooler instead of out on the floor as they should be. Since they’re a living thing, I like to think that I’m saving them from the cold. BC is in Cascadia, however! I do know that the company that packages these, cultivates many of their ‘wild’ mushrooms in China. As far as I know, chanterelles haven’t been successfully cultivated yet. These certainly have duff on them, hopefully from an actual PNW forest.

The German pumpernickel? What can I say. Good rye bread is hard to find around here (even in my own kitchen) and rye bread is hard-wired. At least I know that it’s good bread. I think it fits into the Slow Food concept at least.

Since I’ve used up the dribs and drabs left from my CSA, next week will be more challenging. Breakfast is certainly a topic to think about since we’ve fallen into the habit of having various rolled grains each morning. I can make a similar breakfast local (and I will next week, once), but my stash is too limited for a daily menu. I could eat local eggs until the cows come home, but that’s not to my palate.

Now that I’ve caught up with myself, I look forward to catching up with all of you DDELCers! 🙂

Edited to add pear dessert 11.04.2007

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 11 2007
Dark Days Challenge - Week #3 Recap « Urban Hennery

[…] (Skagit Foodshed) inspires me with her lunches and dinners full of local ingredients and links to their sources. I […]

5 11 2007
Nate

Great post with astonishing food!

5 11 2007
Saara

Thanks, Nate! I’ll be posting the non-local stuff to ABF soon.

Leave a Reply

