DDELC

9 11 2007

Well, the week started out with another food that made it into nearly every meal. This week’s featured vegetable was Red Kuri squash! Actually since I grew it myself from seed taken from a squash acquired at the co-op, it was yellow for some reason. I don’t think it crossed with anything since Red Kuri is cucurbita maxima and the others in the garden this year were Delicata c. pepo and Ronde de Nice zucchini c. pepo, neither of which are yellow. Either way, it was still delicious and huge.

Pumpkin waffles

The first thing I did was make pumpkin waffles! There are some verboten pecans in the batter, but the flour was Fairhaven Mills whole wheat pastry flour which is grown in Washington. The eggs were from our friends who live 7 miles down the road and the buttermilk was from Golden Glen Creamery. I did toss in some Nancy’s yogurt which is made at the Springfield Creamery in Eugene, Oregon. Alongside was apple syrup made at Minea Farm in Redmond. Just an aside, pecans, chestnuts and walnuts from Cascade Walnut in Loomis, Wa are available at the co-op! (I plan on doing a post about nuts soon so I’ll not reveal everything just yet.)

Then we had pumpkin soup for a few lunches and dinners. I did some curried and some without. No pictures, you know what pumpkin soup looks like!

Pumpkin muffins

Keith was really in heaven this week since, along with rhubarb, pumpkin is one of his favorites. I made some pumpkin muffins with Dorie Greenspan’s recipe from the book Baking: From My Home to Yours. There are raisins and whatnots in there, but the squash and flour were local.

cooked emmer

I was trying to focus more on breakfast this week, so I cooked up some emmer from Bluebird Grain Farms in Winthrop. I had picked this up while in Twisp earlier this fall. I sweetened this with Jackman Creek honey which comes from bees just a few miles Upriver. The hives aren’t moved around so this honey is truly local! Alternatively I could have used some maple honey that I picked up from Tenneson Family Farm down in Sedro. Aah, decisions! 😉

Root veg gratin

Finally, I made some root vegetable gratin from some CSA and some of my own potatoes, parsnips grown somewhere in the valley (I’ll have to start taking notes when I shop since the farmer is often noted on the store signage), sweet potatoes from California and some Jarlsberg from Ohio?! Oops!

Since I’m focusing on making sure that the pantry and freezer stocks are rotated this coming week, I’m not sure that I’ll be doing so well. Tonight is the last of the squash that I didn’t freeze and some vintage red beans in a modified Cuban black bean soup. Finally!

Actions

Information

One response

11 11 2007
Dark Days Challenge - Week #4 Recap « Urban Hennery

[…] (Skagit Foodshed) once again featured a vegetable throughout her menus this week. Her yellow Red Kuri squash found […]

Leave a Reply

