Cleaning up well

14 11 2007

Of course we’re all vacuuming and shoving life’s detritus under the bed to get the house ready for the big Local Thanksgiving 2007, but that’s not today’s topic. Besides all the baking and menu planning, this time of year brings more parties and night’s out. Some of us actually have to get out of the house clothes and look decent. 😉

Many years ago, I more or less stopped wearing makeup, but every once in a while it’s fun to put on a nice dress and a little color on the cheeks. For me, this usually means buying new mascara since the old one is … well … old and sometimes dried up. As it happens as I was picking up some items at Super Supplements, a small Washington retail chain, I noticed an attractive wooden makeup display. Pots and tubes of testers allowed me to examine everything thoroughly and there were also ingredients lists
on all the items. Moreover, I could recognize and pronounce those ingredients!

Gabriel Cosmetics mascara

I also recognized Bellevue! Gabriel Cosmetics, Inc. has apparently pulled it off. Makeup without bizarre, sometimes toxic, ingredients that actually works. Well, at least the mascara does. I’ll have to buy some of the other products to be sure, but mascara is the clincher product for me.

While I was there, I picked up some Uncle Harry’s tooth powder and some jasmine essential oil (used instead of perfume). Apparently health and beauty products are also being produced in Redmond. After I get my teeth cleaned in mid-December, I’ll report back on the success or failure of the tooth powder. I have a problem area back where my wisdom teeth were removed so, after reading many testimonials, I thought I could give the product a try. I’m using my usual fluoridated Tom’s of Maine toothpaste at night because the tooth powder doesn’t contain that useful ingredient (that I want in my toothpaste and not my water).

Anyway, I’d been meaning to post about these products and possibly others soon, but what prompted me to get on it was listening to Weekday’s show on KUOW yesterday Toys Aren’t the Only Thing That’s Toxic. Follow the other links at the bottom of Weekday’s page, but definitely visit the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics. You can check to see which companies have signed the Compact for Safe Cosmetics.

Another item that I picked up (at the co-op) recently is Suncoat Product’s All Natural Hairspray. Since it’s made in Ontario, it’s hardly a local product, but so far I haven’t been able to find anything locally made. I’ve used it once and it seemed to work well.

So that’s it for today’s testimonials. Hopefully, it helps make for a safer holiday season in all aspects!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 11 2007
Rusty

Hello & thank you again for your wonderful blog! One thing you might be interested in…Eminence Organic Skin Care products have no added chemicals, fragrances, colors, etc…just fruit, plant, and flower-based skincare products. We at buynaturalskincare.com are the fastest-growing retailers of Eminence & ship worldwide from our location right here in Skagit County & offer free shipping to Skagit residents too!

19 11 2007
Saara

Thanks for the tip, Rusty! We love our local retailers and distributors and do our best to support them. Christmas is coming and we could all use some chemical-free pampering. 😀

Leave a Reply

