Sunday: Water plants

4 01 2009

This is a time for resolutions, but it just hasn’t been my thing. However, this year I decided I could have just one resolution.

Sunday: Water plants

I’m a compulsive list-maker and besides groceries (usually one for each store), I make lists of the various tasks that I feel I need to do during the week. Since I work at home, work is done whenever it is there to be done. Each work project can sometimes have its own list as well.

All this usually means that despite being relatively organized, I rarely really know what day it is or what holiday or 3-day weekend is looming. This is fine except that I never really know how to answer the inevitable, “What are you doing for ________?” My usual answer is, “Oh! When is that?” This sometimes means that my 3-day sourdough rye bread baking project or my plan to oil the wood floors get pre-empted by a sudden need to conform the idea of other peoples’ time off. The wood floors can wait (and have … and will), of course, but the sourdough project can be a bit stickier.

I’m not sure I’m going to be able to overcome that scheduling gremlin, but I have decided to dedicate one day each week to unstructured time off. My Sunday will be devoted to reading, napping, listening to the radio, hiking, or whatever my inklings are. All the other items on all the other lists will just have to wait. I won’t feel guilty for not vacuuming, taking out the compost, finishing up that work project, or writing all those latent emails.

Or even publishing blog posts. So …

Sunday: Water plants

Clancy & Maija on the lane

Clancy & Maija on the lane

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 01 2009
launate

Hi Saara,

thanks for stopping by the blog. If you could put us on your Sunday list of things to do, that would be fine 😉

Please tell everyone at ABF I said hi, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

4 01 2009
Saara

I’ve been indulging myself by *reading* blogs all day, yours included. I’ll pass on the wishes. 🙂

8 01 2009
Kimberly

This is exactly what I’ve always found was the hardest part about working from home – you lose track of the days and the regular work schedule. Oh yeah, and there’s the fact that your work is always there and you can feel a little guilty if you’re not doing it. I always set aside Monday as my ‘free’ day to do stuff that normal people might do on the weekend or to finish up errands and tasks that got neglected over the weekend. Or, sometimes just lazy me time where I can read a book or watch a movie without being interrupted.

8 01 2009
Saara

That’s a great method too, Kimberly. It’s all about getting rid of the guilt! For errands I usually take a Tuesday or Wednesday (they’re the quietest days at Costco!) every other week or so and do all the shopping and errands.

Leave a Reply

