Challenges for 2009

3 05 2009

I don’t usually participate actively in blogger challenges, but I do follow some with interest and have passively played along. In 2007 I did the Dark Days Eat Local Challenge put on by Urban Hennery and enjoyed it very much. Those tags have “fallen off” in the blog revamp, but I should get them back on, especially since I plan to play along this winter if Laura does it again.

This year, as a way to virtually kick myself in the tuckus a little, I’ve decided to participate in two challenges and occasionally in an event. In for a penny, in for a pound!

Independence Days Challenge

It’s the second year for the challenge but the first year for me as an official participant. It’s essentially taking the huge issue of increasing self-reliance (not to be confused with self-sufficiency) and breaking it down into smaller steps. By parsing this multi-faceted goal as a series of smaller tasks, it becomes quite manageable. Tracking it makes it easier to see progress that has been made and not become overwhelmed by what remains to be done.

I used the categories last year to sort of keep tabs on myself and found them quite helpful. Since it was such a positive experience just casually checking once in a while, I decided to actually participate this year. I’ll be posting here on my progress on Mondays (or thereabouts).

The Growing Challenge Advanced Edition – From Seed To Seed!

This one started in January, but I’m just joining up now.

The challenge is to grow a crop from seed and then harvest enough seeds to grow it again next year. The benefit of doing this instead of just buying new seed is acclimating a food plant to your particular micro-climate.

This is interesting to me since I have an especially challenging situation and have been figuring out what works and what I just can’t grow here. The other benefits are learning a new skill and saving a bit of money. I’ve been doing this over the years here and there, but a little less randomness is probably in order. This should help.

I’ll be posting about that on my Garden Journal whenever Melinda requests the weekly update.

Grow Your Own

My friend Nate of House of Annie asked me to submit my nettle pasta post to the Grow Your Own Roundup #27 event last week.

I probably would have written my post slightly differently had I intended it for the GYO Roundup, but I appreciated being alerted to this blogging event and submitted it as it was. I love the concept and think it’s a great way to show off some of our local bounty to the wider world.

I’ll be participating more casually on this one, but intend to try a posting at least once a month. Since it’s only twice a month, I may be able to participate more often, but I’ll be shooting for original recipes so we’ll see.

Is this a change in direction for the blog?

No, I’m still focused on the Skagit foodshed and what it has to offer. As you may have noticed, there hasn’t been much “shopping” going on around here recently. Since both of us are self-employed, the economy has hit us quite hard and we haven’t been eating in our local restaurants or even driving around to see what’s new as much lately. I did have my birthday brunch at Cameron’s in Anacortes and dinner at Seeds in La Conner though!

Since the root cellar has been deemed a success, we’ll be doing our best to fill that up for the winter. We’re still eating down the freezers for defrosting, but we’ll be filling that with local meat and produce over the summer as well. During all the seasons, we continue to forage and learn about our local wild edibles. Each new addition to our stores will get posted about here.

Now, however, the rain has turned to sunshine again so I’m off to plant a few more things out in the garden!

Actions

Information

One response

5 05 2009
Nate

Thanks for participating! I think your stinging nettle pasta was one of the most unique dishes in the roundup. Hope you continue with more GYO postings!

Leave a Reply

