Fireweed salad

21 05 2009

I wanted a salad this evening so I grabbed a paper sack and wandered out to see what I could find. For some reason the Claytonia (miner’s lettuce) isn’t very prolific in its usual places. In fact, I could hardly find any! So as I was wandering back to the house pondering yet another “winter salad”, I saw the fireweed patch. Now this is mostly a couple feet tall already, but I did find a few smaller shoots in the garden and elsewhere.

Since I know it can be bitter when larger, I tasted each piece as I washed them. I used scissors and snipped them and the few Claytonia leaves into my bowl with a couple of chopped spears of asparagus. A pinch of kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, vinegar and oil made for a wonderful first spring salad.

Now I’ll have to keep my eye out for any young shoots left. I shouldn’t have dawdled!

More on fireweed here and here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 05 2009
Julie Reinhardt

I didn’t know you could eat fireweed! Beautiful salad.

26 05 2009
Growing Challenge Check In #1 « Garden Journal

[…] nettles), Claytonia sibirica (Spring Beauty or Miner’s Lettuce), Epilobium angustifolium (fireweed), Rubus spectabilis (salmonberry), Rubus ursinus (blackberry), Vaccinium parvifolium (red […]

Leave a Reply

