Book worm

26 07 2007

I just made up a reading list which is one of the pages in the left menu. They are some of the books on the topic of food and economy that have influenced me. It’s a somewhat short list and other books that I want to read, and are probably good resources, are not yet included. They will be added as I read them.

I’ve found most of these books at the Upper Skagit Library and I urge you to check your local branch or do an interlibrary loan. If you want to purchase any of the titles, my first recommendation is your local bookstore or Powell’s online. Yes, Amazon has its roots in Seattle, but Powell’s is a wonderful independent new and used bookstore based in Portland that does not yet have its own ticker symbol. There’s something to be said for that. 😉

Just in case you’re curious, or Margaret happens to be reading this ;), I intend to read:

Plenty by Alisa Smith and J.B. Mackinnon – from our close Canadian neighbours that brought us the 100 Mile Diet (borrowed from a friend, I hope!)

Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Foods by Gary Paul Nabhan

Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World by Mark Kurlansky (at the library)

The United States of Arugula: How We Became a Gourmet Nation by David Kamp

Big-Box Swindle: The True Cost of Mega-Retailers and the Fight for America’s Independent Businesses by Stacy Mitchell (borrowed from my father-out-law)

Might be interesting, but I won’t know until I get a peek:

Near a Thousand Tables: A History of Food by F Fernandez-armesto

Slow Food: Collected Thoughts on Taste, Tradition, and the Honest Pleasures of Food
by Carlo Petrini

A Movable Feast: Ten Millennia of Food Globalization by Kenneth F. Kiple

I’ve read, and plan to read, many other titles on the general subject of food, but these are the ones that relate most closely to the topic at hand.

This weekend will be spent down in Bellevue playing around with a pack of foreign cars so I most likely won’t be posting over the weekend.

Happy reading!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment